I need help, I really need help pleeease.
I assume that (3) is a graph, because it doesn't display on my tablet.
a) 1 because the daily operating cost is stated specifically.
b) 3 because the profit of $500 will be a point on the graph corresponding to a value of t; 2 because if we put P=500 and solve for t we get t=1525/7.5=203.3 so the graph would show t=203-204.
c) 2 because we set P=0 and solve for t=1025/7.5=136.7, so 137 tickets sold would give a profit of $2.5, but 136 tickets would make a loss of $5; alternatively, if (3) is a graph then P=0 is the t-axis so it's where the line cuts the axis between 136 and 137.
d) The rate of change is 7.5 from (2).
e) 2, because the format shows it to be a linear relationship; a straight line graph for (3) also shows linearity.
a) profit=sales- operating costs so 1025 in (2) is the negative value representing these costs. If (3) is a graph, it's the intercept on the P axis at P=-1025; (4) is the P value when t=0.
b) For (1) you would need to find out how many tickets at $7.50 you would need to cover the operating costs of $1025 plus the profit of $500. That is, how many tickets make $1525? Divide 1525 by 7.5; 2 and 3 have already been dealt with; to use (4) you would note that P=$500 somewhere between t=200 and 250 in the table.
c) For (1), work out how many tickets cover the operating costs. 1025/7.5=136.7, so pick 137 which gives the smallest profit to break even; 2 and 3 already given; in (4) it's where P goes from negative to positive, between 100 and 150.
d) For (1) the only changing factor is the number of tickets sold. The rate is simply the price of the ticket, $7.50; if (3) is a graph, the rate of change is the slope of the graph, to find it make a right-angled triangle using part of the line as the hypotenuse, then the ratio of the vertical side (P range) and the horizontal side (t range) is the slope=rate of change; for (4) take two P values and subtract the smallest from the biggest, then take the corresponding t values and subtract them, and finally divide the two differences to give the rate of change: example: (475-(-275))/(200-100)=750/100=7.5.
e) For (1) it's clear that the profit increases (or loss decreases) with the sale of each ticket by the same amount as the price of a ticket, so there is a linear relationship; 2 and 3 already dealt with; in the table in (4) the profit changes by the fixed value of 50 tickets=$375, showing that a linear relationship applies between P and t: for every 50 tickets we just add $375 to the profit. Read More: ...